Boys Varsity Basketball · Boys Basketball Celebrates Successful Season

The Ovid-Elsie boys basketball program recently wrapped up another successful season with the annual program banquet at Ovid-Elsie High School April 7th. The Marauders finished the season 18-3, which included a MMAC Conference Championship, their 2nd league championship in a row, and matched last season’s 18 wins. The JV squad finished with a perfect 18-0 record, while the Freshman team finished a great season as well, going 9-6.

The varsity team had two school records go down this year, as Senior Jakob Loynes made 8 three pointers vs. Byron in February to break the previous made threes in a game-7 held by Wes Darling, Dan Schwark and Eric Ballard.

The team broke the record for least points per game given up, as it held opponents to a only a stingy 40.7 points per game, breaking the previous mark held by the 2016-17 team by 7 points, as the previous record was 47.7.

Senior Liam Thompson has been honored for his outstanding play by being named to multiple All-State and All-Area teams.

  • 1st Team All MMAC (Unanimous selection)
  • 1st Team All-Area Argus Press
  • 1st Team All-Area Division 2 Lansing State Journal
  • 1st Team “BCAM’s Best” (All-State), Basketball Coaches Association of Michigan
  • Honorable Mention All-State Division 2, Associated Press
  • Honorable Mention All-State Division 2, Detroit Free Press
  • Honorable Mention All-State Division 2 , Detroit News

Junior Shayne Loynes was also recognized:

  • 2nd Team All MMAC
  • Honorable Mention All-Area Argus Press
  • Honorable Mention All-Area Division 2 Lansing State Journal

Junior Justin Moore as well earned recognition:

  • 2nd Team All MMAC
  • Honorable Mention All-Area Argus Press

Liam, Shayne and Justin were joined by two of their teammates on the MMAC all-conference team this season.

1st Team

  • Liam Thompson (Sr.), Ovid-Elsie (Unanimous)
  • Kyle Hulett (Sr.), Byron  (Unanimous)
  • J.D. Rawls (Sr.), Mt. Morris (Unanimous)
  • Jarrett Kelley (Sr.), Chesaning (Unanimous)
  • Kolin Lineau (Sr.), New Lothrop
  • Devyn Hazelwood (Sr.), Durand

2nd Team

  • Shayne Loynes (Jr.), Ovid Elsie
  • Justin Moore (Jr.), Ovid-Elsie
  • Jacob Turnwald (Sr.), Chesaning
  • Cole Yerman (Sr.), Byron
  • Denzekiel Briscoe (Sr.), Mt. Morris
  • Avery Moore (Jr.), New Lothrop

Honorable Mention

Jakob Loynes (Sr.), Ovid-Elsie, Caleb Carman (Sr.), Ovid-Elsie, Josh Green (Jr.), Bryon, Michael James (Jr.), Chesaning, Cole Higley (Sr.), Chesaning, Evan Egan (Jr.), Durand, Jaylen Jones (Jr.), Durand, Ian Bruce (Sr.), Mt. Morris, JaQuan Benton (Jr.), Mt. Morris, Brandon Gross (Sr.), Montrose, Antio Harrison (So.), Montrose, Jacob Graves (Jr.), New Lothrop, Dylan Shaydik (Jr.), New Lothrop

The Marauders continue to get it done in the classroom as well as on the court, as they earned Academic All-State honors as a team again this season. The team maintains an average GPA of 3.538, which is outstanding and good for the 15th best average in the state in Division 2.

Jakob Loynes and Cayleb Carman earned BCAM Outstanding Senior Student Athlete awards this season as they maintain 4.22 and 3.99 GPAs respectively.

The following awards were presented to the varsity team.

  • Most Valuable Player: Liam Thompson (Sr.)
  • Most Inspirational Player: Jacob Loynes (Sr.)
  • Most Improved Player: Jacob Chrenka (Jr.)
  • Defensive Player of the Year: Shayne Loynes (Jr.) & Justin Moore (Jr.)
  • All-In Coach’s Award: Justin Moore (Jr.)
  • BCAM Team First Award: Shayne Loynes (Jr.)
  • 2018-19 Team Captains: Jakob Loynes (Sr.), Cayleb Carman (Sr.), Liam Thompson (Sr.), Shayne Loynes (Jr.)
  • 2019-20 Team Captains: Shayne Loynes (Jr.), Justin Moore (Jr.), Aaron Hurst (Jr.)

Thank you to all of the community, staff, parents, etc. that made this season such a great experience! A very special thank you to our outstanding seniors! You will me missed!

2019 Seniors: Cayleb Carman, Sean Witt, Weston Kvalevog, Liam Thompson, Jakob Loynes (Missing: Bryce Dolan and Angelino Ramos) This year’s senior class amassed 36 wins the past two seasons, and won 3 championships.